futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

winter is coming soon

"Well, it looks like winters coming." I said cheerfully to one of my co-workers the other day. She said it was "the middle of summer" and rolled her eyes. But, I think we're past summer solstice by now. Things can only get better. If I want to believe that winter is coming then it's coming. After all, it's getting colder each day. There was a gorgeous summer storm on Friday. I ran up the bike path on the west side highway joyfully drenched. Then on Saturday I ran in the high noon sun to dry off. I have a suntan. If I get anymore tan I'll look like spilt india ink or a little sunspot. But, there's no reason not to get all crispy; winter will be here soon so I'd better thicken my skin. I better find my leggings and wool hats and have them ready. I'm so hot and furious these days I'm dying for a breath of icy air. If you live in one of the cool regions of the world could you mail me a snowball? Please?

It's seven am or so. I'm listening to the jets that fly to washington (well other places too I guess but to washington, mostly) and the guys who are using a band-saw to slice up quarter-round for the brownstone on the corner on the east-side and the breaks of the cars and hiss of the bus doors and the rumbling and rolling of the trains in the belly of the streets. I don't need an alarm clock. By six am everything's howling and sawing and rumbling away and there's nothing to be done but get up and try to make some noise myself. I put mozart's requiem on. I'm obsessed with it, especially the bit with the tenor and the deep horn, a tuba I think. I should find out what he's singing about.

Thursday I go for jury duty. That's what I get for wanting to vote! When is the next election? I'll vote for anyone who lowers the bloody cigarette tax. Time to read the news and see what's what.

"The trumpet rings a wonderous sound, ringing through earth's sepulchres, bringing all before the throne. Death is struck down, nature quakes, and all creation awakes to make an answer to its Judge. In the book, exactly worded, all has been recorded, and thence shall judgement be awarded. When the Judge has taken His seat, and every hidden deed is revealed, nothing will be left unpunished.What shall I, weak man, be pleading, who shall intercede for me when the just themselves need mercy?"

Well, I rather like that. Very apt with jury duty coming up and all.

winson.html - 2002-07-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk