futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

this is the kind of stuff that seems to be well received

I was jealous. No I am jealous. I haven't shook it off yet. I�m ashamed to be jealous it�s an ugly, useless emotion but it�s still there no matter how I try to think about the whole thing.

I went to a play last night. A musical. Once on this Island. I went alone. That�s nothing new.

The first thing that got on my nerves was that she got to have a Friday evening show. I only got a 3:30 show. Who wants to see a play in the middle of the afternoon on a Friday! But, of course, it�s a musical so I�m supposed to understand that everyone likes musicals and no one likes Endgame and be okay with this. Well, I�m not okay. I guess it makes sense, but I�m still really, really mad. In any case the crowd was excellent and I had to beg the house manager to let me in.

All and all the show wasn�t bad. The staging was bland (is that jealousy speaking?) But it�s a good story. I mean for a musical. I hate musicals. Well, there�s Oklahoma: amazing! But I stray from my point. The staging was bland and they missed the whole point of the story. This is the story:

A island is divided into two classes, the rich French settlers and the poor peasants. A color-struck peasant girl falls in love with the son of the richest man on the island after rescuing him from a storm. She nurses him to heath and they fall in �love� unfortunately this �love� dose not include marriage or acceptance into the society. The guy leaves her to marry a society girl he has been betroved to since birth. After making an attempt on his life, she is kicked out of the estate. She waits by the gates, still in love with him. Eventually she staves to death waiting. Her body is consumed by the earth and she is reincarnated as a tree that grows under the gate bursting it open and putting and end to colorcrossed lovers. Now the peasants and Settlers can mix freely! Then the peasants loot the palace and institute anarchy.

(Okay I added that last bit about the looting myself) But even without my epilogue the story is brilliant. Fucking brilliant. At any rate, they totally missed the point! There was not one thing on stage that made me sense that there was any class division between the people at all! The peasants were happy they kept talking about being hungry and how hard life was but everyone was clean and smiling. There was a song Some women you marry others you love and they made it seem like that was just the most touching and lovely thing in the world. And all the peasants talked with these bad psudo-aribbean accents that sounded like jar-jar binks. I wanted to cry!

Still, this is the kind of stuff that seems to be well received: standing ovation, printed tickets, colour posters. The show got the works. I guess I�d better get used to it. This is how it works. No love for the hungry. I�ll get over it.

After the show I ran out 10 miles of rage through the city parks in the night, pounding on the pavement, screaming at the trees! At least they seem to listen.

00:04:12 - 2001-02-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk